maybe i’m a bad mom

Standard

but honestly the posts i see in my facebook feed from moms sometimes make me gag. mostly they are women i don’t really know anymore but for some reason remain facebook friends with. my complaint? the posts of pictures with the captions that read “dinner is served! dinner is organic, dairy free, gluten free, sugar free, locally grown parsnips! yum!” cue eyeroll. parsnips are a root vegetable you moron! they don’t have dairy or gluten!!!

i understand the importance of feeding your child healthy food but the posts make any mom who isn’t serving what you are feel guilty or annoyed. i just feel annoyed. i make my own baby food most of the time. and guess what, the fruits and veggies i use aren’t always organic and they are most likely GMO produce. and sometimes i even serve my daughter Gerber food that i bought at Target. GASP!

even more annoying is when mom’s make passive aggressive comments on posts of other people’s kids. “oh we never serve squeezy pouches in our house. LoL wink face.” eeeewwwww! i suppose you only clothe your child in organic cotton and all the toys they play with are wooden but of course made with reclaimed wood only. and i’m positive your child will grow up one day using the phrase “i deserve…” and will be a real douche. yeah i just called you and your kid a douche.

look i get it, we all need to be more environmentally conscious. we all need to be more informed of where our food comes from, where are clothes are made, and ensure our children have better opportunities than we do. however, being preachy about it just makes me want to make fun of you. moms, all parents for that matter, should be on the same team and not try to make each other feel bad for their own way of parenting.

and stop with the pseudoscience! just because you read it on the internet or heard it in a netflix documentary doesn’t mean it’s real!!! do your research. read. learn. then make a decision.

end rant.

2 thoughts on “maybe i’m a bad mom

  1. I get you, you are my kind of mama. I roll my eyes so many times these days I’m surprised I know which direction I’m going anymore! I am so fed up with moms, most always New moms, who play holier than thou. Enough already. When did it become cool to be cruel? And we wonder why we have a bullying problem amongst our youth. Let them eat a little processed sugar, throw their soiled disposable diaper into the landfill where it belongs, forget about trying to “wear” a 56 month old baby, and let’s get back to normal here people. I admit, with baby #4 I did try to make my own baby food… That lasted all of one meal. Frankly the time it took to make didn’t seem worth the hassle and clean up afterwords. Boil the sweet potato, mash it, cool it. Or… Open jar/pouch and insert spoon. It all looked the same going in and coming back out to me. Great post, thanks for the laughs. ~Best, Julie

    • mrs. mochulsky

      haha! i think we would get along swimmingly. yeah the cloth diaper debate, i mean i just can’t. and if one more person tells me their kid is 86 weeks i’m going to barf. after you turn 1 you are one and then two. not 24 months!!!

Comments are closed.